The Current State of Things

Hello!

I haven’t been very active here on the blog lately, and that’s because the weather is finally bearable, so Alex and I, and a few amazing friends, have been hard at work trying to get our house sorted out. It still looks bleak right now, because we still don’t really have any leads on the plumbing issue, and there’s still tons of things that don’t belong to us that we need gone. Baby steps, I suppose.

I’ve never written in detail about this before, so there’s no point of reference, but know that these photos are a very significant improvement from the state of the house when we started, back in late September.

This structure, formerly a garage, was turned into a house in 1951. It was owned and lived in by my late great grandma and grandpa until my grandma’s death in 2005, and lived in by their daughter, my grandma, until about 2007. It’s been abandoned since then, and my grandma offered to let Alex and I live there, rent free, when we ran into problems with our crazy landlord.

My great-grandparents were beautiful.
My great grandparents were beautiful.

We still have a ton of work to go, but lots of progress has been made, and it feels really good to see pieces of us shining through.

This is the living room, the most livable room. Everything in it belongs to us, or is being kept there.

My globe collection, minus one, and temporarily places glasses and mugs.
My globe collection, minus one, and temporarily placed glasses and mugs.

IMG_7203

IMG_7202

Most of my needlework. I love them all gathered together!
Most of my needlework. I love them all gathered together!

IMG_7207

Beautiful vintage bar cart; a gift from Alex!
Beautiful vintage bar cart; a gift from Alex!
Love this creepy lamp, and the tree stump one, made by my great grandpa.
Love this creepy lamp, and the tree stump one, made by my great grandpa.
Oh, the joys of unpacking breakables. I painted that wall!
Oh, the joys of unpacking breakables. I painted that wall!
This built in bookcase is a dream come true.
This built in bookcase is a dream come true, and constant reminder that I need to finish that wall!

IMG_7208

This is the first bedroom and the view into it. About half of the things in here are ours.

IMG_7218
Behind me would be our tiny dining room, with an entrance to the kitchen, and to my left would be the hallway, with access to the bathroom, kitchen, and back bedroom.

IMG_7219

IMG_7220

Ellie's and my old dollhouse. We had a thing for tiny teddy bears,  apparently.
Ellie’s and my old dollhouse. We had a thing for tiny teddy bears, apparently.
There's currently a washer, dryer, and sofa in my closet!
There’s currently a washer, dryer, and sofa in my closet!

This is the hallway. It has lots of shelving, and leads to the bathroom, kitchen, and a back bedroom, which is currently filled to the brim with my grandma’s belongings. I didn’t take any photos of those back rooms, or the tiny dining room, because I was by myself and it felt kind of creepy! I feel like I can sense the presence of both of my great grandparents, even though neither of them passed here. It’s comforting, but also still kind of scary. Is that strange?

IMG_7223

Alex and I kept setting deadlines for ourselves, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and now Easter, but they kept getting pushed back for one reason or another. This has been a slow and painful process, but now that there are signs of spring, things are looking up! Easter is still our move-in goal, because I would love to host that holiday for my family in my home. I’ll keep you updated on the process from now on, and hopefully in the not-too-distant future, I’ll be able to post a full home tour!

Wish us luck,

xo

One thought on “The Current State of Things

Leave a Reply

