What I’m Doing Now

Hey guys!

My life has changed a bit since my last “things about me” post, so I thought I’d give you a little update on what I’m into right now.

IMG_1118

What I’m doing: I’m crafting my heart out, trying to write posts, playing with kitties, and doing a bunch of spring cleaning!

I’m listening to: tons of The White Stripes, like White Blood Cells and De Stijl, and Jack White. I can’t get enough of that guy.

I’m watching: New episodes of Bob’s Burgers and New Girl, my current favorites. I also have to admit that I’m a sucker for Family Guy, American Dad, and Archer.

I’m reading: Blogs, blogs, blogs. I really love The Dainty Squid, Skunkboy, A Beautiful Mess, and Smile and Wave. I’m also trying to get back to reading a borrowed copy of Lena Dunham’s autobiography, Not That Kind of Girl. I’ve had it for a long time! Sorry, Jenny!

I’ve been in kind of a funk lately, hence the lack of posts. I think most of what my problem is is that a couple weeks ago, Alex and I ran into a super big problem with the house we’ve been working on, and it happens to be a pretty good amount of black mold. Since that happened, we’ve been apartment searching, and have found a couple decent leads, but none for sure. We had been putting all of our time and money into that little house, so we had no savings to speak of. Everything feels kind of hopeless right now, especially because I lost my job before we ever found the mold.

I took losing my job as an opportunity to start working on my own stuff full time, meaning opening my Etsy store, and blogging full time. And since Alex works 40 hours a week, I’ve also been doing a lot of the behind-the-scenes work, like cleaning, doing our ever-growing mountain of laundry, and calling and pricing apartments and houses. It’s very discouraging when your Etsy shop has been active for a month, and you’ve gotten exactly zero sales. I’m trying to find new creative ways to make some money, like selling some of my old clothes or furniture we don’t need anymore and cleaning houses with my aunt, because I would rather not get another full-time job and get stuck not working on my dreams again. We’ve got a plan, and we’re keeping our hopes up that it goes through for us!

This is the cutest apartment that we saw, and the managers are super nice and keep in touch with prospective renters! It’s a tiny studio, but it has the most adorable vintage appliances, and the best closet space I have ever seen. This is the one we’re trying our best to get into, and here’s some pictures I hastily snapped with my phone on the tour.

IMG_1128

IMG_1129

IMG_1132
I’m probably more excited about toothbrush and soap holders than I should be.

IMG_1130

IMG_1131

I love this little apartment, and I want to live there so badly!

Hope you guys had a better week than I did!

xo

2 thoughts on “What I’m Doing Now

Leave a Reply

