ABM Craft Round-up

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but I have a thing for A Beautiful Mess. I recently bought their latest book, Happy Handmade Home, and I’ve read it cover to cover at least five times already. It left me feeling totally inspired and itching to do some crafting. While I haven’t yet made anything from the book, I headed over to their blog, and took a look through their craft project archives. I’ve done a total of four projects over the past week, so I thought I would share them all here!

My first decision was to make this adorable stamped ring dish for my friend Caroline’s housewarming gift. I haven’t gotten to give it to her yet, so don’t tell! I didn’t have metallic paint or letter stamps, so I sprayed this gray and then improvised. I used another ABM stamp I have, and used a metallic paint pen for the details.

IMG_7799 IMG_7800 IMG_7801

I figured while I still had my clay out, I would try these cute textured planters that I’ve been eyeballing for what seems like forever. My first one came out great (I stamped it with the end of a pen), but my second didn’t do so well, because I had to stretch my very last bit of clay to cover it. I love the stamp on it though, I used a ring with a squirrel on it! I spray painted them both, because I hate trying to fill in cracks with a brush!

IMG_7796 IMG_7798 IMG_7797

Before I made that second planter, I finally bit the bullet and tried my hand at making these adorable cat coasters. Mine are less than perfect, but I think that’s part of the charm! I modeled one after my orange kitties, Maxwell and Ringo, one after my black and white cat, Lulu-Belle, and one after my mom’s sweet Calico, Cricket. One of her eyes is crossed, and it’s incredibly cute. She seems to be able to see fine though! I painted them with acrylics and sealed them with Mod Podge, but they haven’t been used, so I don’t really know how they’ll hold up.

IMG_7793 IMG_7794

My last project, and the only one not clay-based, was this piece of easy washi tape wall art. According to the post, it’s been hanging in Emma’s guest bathroom for some time now, and it still looks almost as good as the day it was made! I have trouble finding things with which to decorate bathrooms, so I thought this was a great idea. I used a much smaller canvas and gray tape, mostly because I didn’t have black, and I stamped on the dots in acrylic paint, because I don’t have enough patience to cut out shapes! I love the way it turned out. Here, you can also see my deep love for throw pillows. 🙂

IMG_7807 IMG_7808

Here’s a little bonus project, as well. It’s a quick wall art DIY from Smile and Wave. I originally bought alpha stickers for something else, but realized when I got home that I couldn’t use them because they were white. Everyone knows I can’t just save  them for something else, so I searched my Pinterest boards for anything I may have pinned that uses alpha stickers. My archives have never failed me! This was super easy, except for getting the stickers off. Scratching off the stubborn parts kind of left gray marks in some places, so I decided to go back and paint the letters white, and add in the apostrophe that there wasn’t a sticker for. It’s also, as it turns out, the only project I have step-by-step photos for.

IMG_7769 IMG_7771 IMG_7802

IMG_7803

I’m excited about all of these, and they’ll all have a good purpose in my home! Besides, that gift one, of course. Has anyone done any good crafts lately?

xo

Leave a Reply

