Road to Ohio

This year, for 4th of July weekend, Alex and I took a trip to visit his aunt and other family in McArthur, Ohio. I knew as soon as I found out which part of the interstate we’d be taking that we would have to stop and see a couple roadside attractions that I had been obsessing over for a while. Both were still within the Tennessee state line, so I really had no excuse as to why I hadn’t gone before, but this was the perfect reason! The day started out gross and rainy, and I was really afraid that I wouldn’t be able to get out of the car and spend much time with this scaly beauty, who was once a prop at a fireworks store, which burned down a few years back. As luck would have it, the rain slowed to a mist as we came upon it! Thank you, universe.

IMG_2060 IMG_2061

It was easy to get to, and we just parked beside the dollar store that it hides behind. I don’t know if it’s me, but being so close to and looking up at something so huge and exciting is overwhelming to me. My anxiety-ridden brain was sure that thing was going to fall over if I touched it. Alex clearly had no such fears, and stood on its foot, ready to become lunch.

IMG_2063 IMG_2064 IMG_2065 IMG_2066

The our other stop is also a burned down fireworks store, and it just a few miles away from the dragon, on the opposite side of the highway.

IMG_2094 IMG_2077

IMG_2155 IMG_2076

I’ve driven past this before, and could see from the road that there were two Ferris wheels, a couple other structures, a pink elephant, a giraffe, a tall rocket, a creepy clown, and a really long firetruck. This one lies behind a gas station, and is fenced in with a “No Trespassing” sign. I wrote a review for the place on the Roadside America app, which tells all about this place.

“I stopped by there today (July 2015) to get some photos, and it’s closed to the public. There’s a gap in the fence, so we went in anyway. Much to my dismay, the elephant and giraffe have been removed! There are still two Ferris wheels, plywood clowns, the rocket, and the World’s Longest Firetruck, but a lot of the allure was taken with the elephant. The place was kind of littered, and probably isn’t worth a stop unless you have a thing for large, abandoned camouflage bras. It still looks pretty and mysterious from the highway.”

Needless to say, it was kind of a disappointment, because the elephant was the reason I was so excited to go! Both the elephant and the giraffe were still there last time I passed by it (early June), and there apparently used to a horse, according to Kaylah’s trip to the place. We rushed around, feeling kind of creeped out, and got some pretty good pictures anyway!

IMG_2090 IMG_2078 IMG_2089 IMG_2092 IMG_2091 IMG_2093

I can’t wait to go on another adventure! I think next on my list is the carved Abe Lincoln in Kentucky.

xo

Leave a Reply

