What I Wore: Rainy Sunday

A few weekends ago, Alex and I took full advantage of the decent (read: not 90+ degrees) weather that Clinton has been having, and decided to check out some places in the neighboring city, Oak Ridge. We initially went out to the Oak Ridge City Center, which is the mall, so that I could do some job hunting. As it turns out, that mall is only two stores, Belk and JCPenney, because the rest of the mall went out of business. That is both hilarious and sad, and, supposedly, there are plans to open it back up later in the year. After that fail we ate at probably the worst Chinese food buffet in existence, and had to go nap off the abuse at home. IMG_2146 IMG_2143 IMG_2140 IMG_2148 IMG_2149 IMG_2139 IMG_2138 diptych

These photos were taken, by a sleepy Alex, across the street from our apartment in downtown Clinton. While I love our apartment itself and some of the cute antique shops, restaurants, and murals in this part of town, I can’t help but ask myself why we moved so far away. It’s about a 40 minute drive to Knoxville, which is where everything is, and there aren’t a lot of job prospects open to me here. Although I have freak-out moments about those things, I’ve decided to keep my head up for now, because I just made my first Etsy sale (!!) and applied to work a neat little cafe around the corner from me, but I’ll be counting down the days to the end of this lease and always dreaming of apartments in Knoxville.

Hope everyone’s having a great weekend! xo

Edit: A month or so has gone by since I wrote this, hence the untattooed forearm, and I got the job at the cafe! It’s great, and I work with some really cool people.

Leave a Reply

